Stereolab - Electrically Possessed [Switched On Volume 4]


  • $29.99
    Unit price per 

The fourth in the Switched On series that compiles non-album tracks and sought after deep cuts by the groop. Following on from the first volume released in 1992, 1995's Refried Ectoplasm, and 1998's Aluminum Tunes, the long-awaited fourth installment spans 1999 - 2008 in the Stereolab story and collates 3 LPs worth of material, all remastered from the original tapes and overseen by the band. It features all the tracks from out-of-print and sought after mini-album The First Of The Microbe Hunters, one-off and impossible to find tour 7"s, compilation tracks, art installation work and a couple of unreleased outtakes from the Mars Audiac Quintet and Dots and Loops recording sessions.

'Switched On Volume 4' Vinyl Track List:

A1 - Outer Bongolia*
A2 - Intervals*
B1 - Barock-Plastic*
B2 - Nomus Et Phusis*
B3 - I Feel The Air {Of Another Planet}*
C1 - Household Names*
C2 - Retrograde Mirror Form*
C3 - Solar Throw-Away [Original version] +
C4 - Pandora's Box Of Worms =
C5 - L'exotisme Interieur ^
D1 - The Super-It @
D2 - Jump Drive Shut-Out +
D3 - Explosante Fixe ^
D4 - Fried Monkey Eggs [Instrumental version]@
D5 - Monkey Jelly @
D6 - B.U.A **
E1 - Free Witch and No Bra Queen ^^
E2 - Heavy Denim Loop Pt 2 =
E3 - Variation One %
E4 - Monkey Jelly [Beats]@
E5 - Dimension M2 ***
F1 - Solar Throw-Away +
F2 - Calimero ++
F3 - Fried Monkey Eggs [Vocal] @
F4 - Speck Voice ^

* tracks
Originally released as The First Of The Microbe Hunters 29th May 2000 on Duophonic Ultra High Frequency Disks, catalogue number D-UHF-D25 as double vinyl [6500 copies pressed] and CD [12,000 copies pressed] editions.

+ tracks
Jump Drive Shut-Out and Solar Throwaway were originally released 10th April 2006 as a 7" tour single via Duophonic Super 45s. Catalogue number DS-4538. 3600 copies were pressed. Solar Throw-Away (Original Version) was unreleased at the time.

^ tracks
Explosante Fixe and L'exotisme Interieur were originally released September 2008 as a 7" tour single via Duophonic Super 45s. Catalogue number DS45-43. 2000 copies were pressed.

@ tracks
The Underground Is Coming 7" EP included The Super -It, Fried Monkey Eggs [Instrumental], Fried Monkey Eggs [Vocal] and Monkey Jelly, it was originally released as a 7" tour single via Duophonic UHF Disks and cut at 33rpm. Catalogue number D-UHF-D24. Monkey Jelly [Beats] was unreleased at the time.

** track
B.U.A was written for a further collaboration with Charles Long [Stereolab had previously worked with him on Music For The Amorphous Body Study Center in 1995]. The artwork is called B.U.A [Burnt Umber Assembly] : An Entanglement of Wholes [1998]. B.U.A is previously unreleased.

^^ tracks
Free Witch And No-Bra Queen and Speck-Voice were originally released 31st August 2001 as a 7" tour single via Duophonic Super 45s. Catalogue number DS45-30. 2000 copies were pressed.

% track
Variation One was written for a film soundtrack and compilation CD for "Moog", a documentary about Robert Moog. Originally released 14th September 2004 via Hollywood Records.

*** track
Dimension M2 was written for the Disko Cabine CD compilation, released in June 2005.

++ track
Calimero was originally released July 1999 via Duophonic Super 45s. Catalogue number DS45 25. A collaborative 7" release between Brigitte Fontaine and Stereolab. The B side was Cache Cache by Monade. A total of 4100 vinyl copies were pressed [1800 on white vinyl and 2300 on black vinyl], there was also a CD edition of 7076 copies.

= track
Pandora's Box of Worms - an unreleased outtake from the Dots and Loops album sessions. Heavy Denim Loop Pt. 2 - any unreleased outtake from the Mars Audiac Quintet album sessions