Grandaddy - The Sophtware Slump .... On A Wooden Piano (Indie Store Exclusive Cloudy Clear Vinyl)


  • $20.99
    Unit price per 

2021 release. Modesto, CA's influential indie-rock group Grandaddy celebrates the 20th-anniversary of their classic second LP, 2000's The Sophtware Slump with a brand-new solo piano recording of the album by principal songwriter Jason Lytle. The candid arrangements reveal new layers of meaning embedded in The Sophtware Slump's melancholy and touching vision of the future. With a meticulous yet scruffy sound that continues to draw comparisons to a post-millennial OK Computer - and which Pitchfork called a "sad, quaint, low-key Y2K-era classic" - The Sophtware Slump, now heard as a solo piano album, is a chance to let the songwriting shine. This is not a record made up of demos or rough sketches; it is a shadow sibling to a record that inspired a generation in the earliest days of the 21st century.
  • 1 He's Simple, He's Dumb, He's the Pilot (Piano Version)
  • 2 Hewlett's Daughter
  • 3 Jed the Humanoid
  • 4 The Crystal Lake
  • 5 Chartsengrafs
  • 6 Underneath the Weeping Willow
  • 7 Broken Household Appliance National Forest
  • 8 Jed's Other Poem (Beautiful Ground)
  • 9 E. Knievel Interlude (The Perils of Keeping It Real)
  • 10 Miner at the Dial-A-View
  • 11 So You'll Aim Toward the Sky