Altin Gün - Yol (Indie Exclusive Purple Vinyl)


  • $22.99
    Unit price per 

Purple vinyl limited to 1,500 copies.

Altin Gün have announced their third album Yol, due out February 26. Yol is the full-length follow-up to the band’s 2019 LP Gece, which earned a Grammy nomination for Best World Music Album. Fronted by the vocalists Merve Dasdemir and Erdinç Ecevit, Altin Gün have won worldwide acclaim for their reimaginings of traditional Turkish folk songs through the lens of pop and psych-rock. 2020’s coronavirus quarantine forced the band to write music in a completely new way, trading demos and ideas over email. They also brought in outside collaborators for the first time, enlisting the Belgian electronic duo Asa Moto to mix the album. The resulting songs mark a new direction for the band as well, with a shift to a sleeker, synth-driven Europop sound.

‘Yol’ displays a noticeable dreaminess, maybe born from this enforced time to reflect. And select elements of late 1970s or early 1980s “Euro” synth pop also shine through. This new musical landscape was nurtured by certain instrument choices; namely the Omnichord, heard on “Arda Boylari”, “Kara Toprak” and “Sevda Olmasaydi”, and the drum-machine, an instrument that is key to the gorgeous closing number, “Esmerim Güzelim”. Dasdemir once more: “bass player Jasper Verhulst loved the song. He said, ‘it doesn’t sound like Altin Gün, this sounds like a Turkish kindergarten music teacher from the 1980s using an 808!’”

Track List:
1. Bahçada Yesil Çinar
2. Ordunun Dereleri
3. Bulunur Mu
4. Hey Nari
5. Yüce Dag Basinda
6. Kesik Çayir
7. Arda Boylari
8. Kara Toprak
9. Sevda Olmasaydi
10. Maçka Yollari
11. Yekte
12. Esmerim Güzelim