PJ Harvey - To Bring You My Love


  • $27.99
    Unit price per 

Reissue on vinyl of the third PJ Harvey studio album To Bring You My Love. Produced by PJ Harvey with Flood and John Parish, and originally released in February 1995, To Bring You My Love features the singles ‘Down By The Water’, ‘C’mon Billy’ and ‘Send His Love To Me’. The album – which celebrates its 25th Anniversary this year – received wide critical acclaim on release, with nominations for Grammy Awards and the Mercury Music Prize. Reissue is faithful to the original recording and package, cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering under the guidance of longtime PJ Harvey collaborator John Parish.

Official vinyl repress. Following the tour for 'Rid of Me', Polly Harvey parted ways with Robert Ellis and Stephen Vaughn, leaving her free to expand her music from the bluesy punk that dominated PJ Harvey's first two albums. It also left her free to experiment with her style of songwriting. Where 'Dry' and 'Rid of Me' seemed brutally honest, 'To Bring You My Love' feels theatrical, with each song representing a grand gesture. Relying heavily on religious metaphors and imagery borrowed from the blues, Harvey has written a set of songs that are lyrically reminiscent of Nick Cave's and Tom Waits' literary excursions into the gothic American heartland. Since she was a product of post-punk, she's nowhere near as literally bluesy as Cave or Waits, preferring to embellish her songs with shards of avant guitar, eerie keyboards, and a dense, detailed production. It's a far cry from the primitive guitars of her first two albums, but Harvey pulls it off with style, since her songwriting is tighter and more melodic than before; the menacing 'Down by the Water' has genuine hooks, as does the psycho stomp of 'Meet Ze Monsta,' the wailing 'Long Snake Moan,' and the stately 'C'mon Billy.' The clear production by Harvey, Flood, and John Parish makes these growths evident, which in turn makes 'To Bring You My Love' her most accessible album, even if the album lacks the indelible force of its predecessors.

A1. To Bring You My Love
A2. Meet Ze Monsta
A3. Working For The Man
A4. C’mon Billy
A5. Teclo
B1. Long Snake Moan
B2. Down By The Water
B3. I Think I’m A Mother
B4. Send His Love To Me
B5. The Dancer